Owls Win 6th Straight ASUN Indoor Championship

By: Bret Baker

Email: bbaker@ksuradio.com


Winston-Salem, N.C. – Over the weekend, the Kennesaw State Owls Track and Field team brought home their sixth straight A-Sun Conference Indoor Championship after their victory at JDL Fast Track in North Carolina.

The victory last Friday extends the Owl’s dominance within the A-Sun conference, as they own a conference record eight indoor championships. Believe it or not, Friday’s triumph came with an extra bit of power, as the Owls set a few more records in their typically dominant performance.

For starters, the first place Owls scored a conference record 223 total points. The second place team, North Florida, finished with 114 total points. In defeating the second place team by a whopping total of 109 points, the team set a championship record in margin of victory.

Individually, sophomore Dayo Akindele earned the honor as Co-Most Outstanding Performer, along with North Florida’s Nick Morken. Both athletes collected a total of 24 combined points throughout the meet. Akindele earned a medal in the triple jump (gold), long jump (silver), and the high jump (bronze).

Including Akindele, a total of 13 Owls medaled in their respective events. Freshman Paris Williams won a gold medal in the Heptathlon, as well as a bronze in the triple jump. Right behind Williams, freshmen David Lott earned a silver medal for his second-place finish in the Heptathlon.

The team swept the podium in the weight throw, earning all three medals. Fabeon Tucker won the gold with an 18.56-meter toss. Along with Tucker, Daniel McKune earned a silver medal, and Chuck McConville won bronze.

Hunter Arnold won gold in the pole vault by beating his teammate Brenton Rosa, who earned a silver medal for his second place finish.

As for the 60-meter events, the Owls reeled in a total of three medals. Terrell Singleton won silver in the 60-meter hurdle. In the 60-meter sprint, Cam Bolden earned gold by outpacing teammate Chandler Nichols, who earned a silver medal.

Sophomore Jonathon Womack set a school-record in the 400-meter sprint with a finish time of 48.77 seconds. The school-record earned Womack a gold medal. Womack wasn’t done after his gold medal finish in the 400-meter, as he also earned gold in the 200-meter sprint.

Braden Canamere also placed in the 400-meter, earning a bronze medal in the process. Sean Blassingame collected a bronze medal in the 200-meter sprint as well.

To end the meet, the Owls won gold in the 4×400 relay. The winning team consisted of Jonathon Womack, Braden Casamere, Sean Blassingame, and Nick Grant.

After the regional USTFCCCA rankings placed the Owls in the middle of the conference, the